SINGLE REVIEW: Vera Blue – The Way That You Love Me

After a string of new releases and dropping live versions of her previous tracks, Vera Blue is ready to enchant you again with album number two. With her sophomore record expected later this year, she is beginning this new musical chapter with an experimental offering. ‘The Way That You Love Me’ explores bad relationship behaviour and takes you a bold new self-discovery of her artistry. 

Taking inspiration from ‘Lady Powers’ and ‘Like I Remember You’, she explores a moody electronic soundscape full of big synths and DIY beats. It’s a song that doesn’t have a lot of commercial potential but it does perfectly suit Triple J with a BANKS inspired melody. 

Diving deep into toxicity she delivers some big imagery that is powerful and emotive. The chorus is simple and effective with her confessing “How can’t you see? How can’t you see? That it’s the way, it’s the way, it’s the way, it’s the way that you love me”. 

It’s a bold beginning for this new chapter in Vera Blue’s career and it will be interesting to see where she sonically goes from here. 

The Way That You Love Me Tour

Saturday 31 August – The Cube – Wodonga
Saturday 7 September – NEX – Newcastle
Sunday 8 September – C.Ex Coffs – Coffs Harbour
Thursday 12 September – Astor Theatre – Perth
Friday 13 September – HQ Complex – Adelaide
Thursday 19 September – Saloon Bar – Launceston
Friday 20 September – Uni Bar – Hobart
Saturday 21 September – Costa Hall – Deakin University – Geelong
Friday 11 October – Brothers – Cairns
Saturday 12 October – James Cook Uni Bar – Townsville
Sunday 13 October – Magnums Hotel – Airlie Beach

Advertisements