EP REVIEW: Ruby Fields – Permanent Hermit

Ruby Fields just knows how to be super relatable. Her debut EP ‘Your Dad’s Opinion For Dinner’ was a coming of age collection of self discovery and honest quirks about her life. After a massive year of touring and being featured on Triple J’s heavy rotation list, she is ready to give you a second serving of honest and quirky tracks. ‘Permanent Hermit’ is a strong collection of indie-rock moments that serve big hooks and easy singalongs for her upcoming sold out shows and festival appearances. Opening with the anthemic single ‘Dinosaurs’, she compares herself to when she was a kid with the lack of imagination and belief she has in herself now. The song takes you on a journey through it’s soft electric guitar filled verses and vulnerable hook right up to the end where she bursts in with a full a band and elevates the emotion one more notch. Leading into the Australian reference galore ‘Climate’, she gives you another anthem to singalong to ironically or un-ironically. It’s so Australian, it’s so carefree, and it’s so happy which is perfect for her live show. Keeping the energy going ‘Trouble’ amps it up with big guitars and a bouncy delivery which will become mosh central. But bringing it back down with ‘Dingo’ and ‘God Bless Turbulence’ she gets a little vulnerable with a cinematic inspired delivery which compliments the growth of ‘Dinosaurs’. But it wouldn’t be a Ruby Fields EP without some classic quirky lyrics that are super Australian like ‘Conny’ and the chant worthy ‘Dodgy Neighbours (& Tax Evaders) which will become some fan favourites. But yet again, Ruby has delivered a strong collection of punchy tracks that show a lot of personality and will fit perfectly into her already very energetic live show. 

Permanent Hermit Australian Tour

Thursday 16 May – The Brightside, Brisbane *Sold Out*

Friday 17 May – The Brightside, Brisbane *Sold Out*

Saturday 18 May – The Brightside, Brisbane

Wednesday 22 May – Newcastle Hotel, Newcastle

Thursday 23 May – Newcastle Hotel, Newcastle *Sold Out*

Friday 24 May – Crowbar, Sydney

Saturday 25 May – Crowbar, Sydney

Tuesday 28 May – Hotel Esplanade, Melbourne 

Wednesday 29 May – Hotel Esplanade, Melbourne *Sold Out*

Thursday 30 May – Hotel Esplanade, Melbourne *Sold Out*

Friday 31 May – Torquay Hotel Motel, Torquay *Sold Out*

Saturday 1 June – Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide *Sold Out*

Sunday 2 June – Badlands Bar, Perth

Friday 7 June – ACU, Canberra

Saturday 8 June – Republic Bar & Cafe, Hobart

 

 

Advertisements