ALBUM REVIEW: The Wombats – Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life


It has been 10 years since The Wombats bursted onto the scene with their absurd indie-rock and introduced their hopelessly romantic tracks with “Let’s Dance To Joy Division” from their debut album “A Guide To Love, Loss & Desperation”. The Liverpool three piece then went onto perfecting a more indie-pop-rock sound with their follow up records “This Modern Glitch” and “Glitterbug”. With each album they only seem to get bigger and bigger and now the band have reached arena status and thats a massive accomplishment. Their fourth studio album “Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life” its a collection of 11 perfectly curated indie-pop-rock songs that have big hooks, massive singsongs and cool guitar riffs. And also I have to shoutout the perfect and ironically true album title which just adds to it. The sound continues on from their previous record so nothing much has changed sonically but thats not a bad thing at all. They’ve found their sound, they’ve found their way of storytelling and now they are just trying to make it bigger and fill those arenas. This album is full of anthems and the singles “Cheetah Tongue”, “Lemon To A Knife Fight” and my personal favourite “Turn” are true testaments to this. “Black Flamingo”, “Out Of My Head” and “Lethal Combination” are the next strongest tracks in this collection and will have you instantly singing along. “Ice Cream” showcases a grittier production that will have you impressed that then translates slightly into the cool “Dip You In Honey”. However one thing we haven’t really heard from this band is a stripped down track that just allows Matthew Murphy’s vocals to take lead. The closest we get is “I Don’t Know Why I Like You But I Do” and for now that will do. But lyrically this album continues the hopeless romantic storytelling the band have always delivered and if you don’t walk away from this album feeling all the feels can you really say you even have a heart?

You can purchase a SIGNED copy of The Wombats new album from Sanity now



Write a comment...