SINGLE REVIEW: Alex Lahey – Lotto In Reverse

lotto in reverse

Australian newcomer Alex Lahey has quickly become a favourite in my books. Her quirky alternative-rock meets pop fusion saw her place number 97 on last years Triple J Hottest 100 with the infectiously brilliant “You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me”. Her debut album “I Love You Like A Brother” will finally be released on October 6 lead by the ridiculously catchy single “Every Day’s The Weekend”. She’s following that monster of a track with the promotional single “Lotto In Reverse” which isn’t as “in your face” catchy but is still very enjoyable. This song holds onto the unique essence of Lahey that listeners have come to know and love over the past year with her vivid imagery and storytelling. Her honest vocals are accompanied by gritty guitars and a nostalgic garage influenced chorus. The lyrics continue to provide honest and quirky moments that sees her putting an ex lover in his place after continually playing mind games. “I think you should know that I really wanna say, I shouldn’t have come over just for you to have your way”. The chorus is catchy and will grow on you with each listen but let’s be real, it was always going to be hard to follow “Every Day’s The Weekend” so she’s done a good job.

 

You can catch Alex Lahey this October on her national “I Love You Like A Brother Tour”. Check out the dates here;

Wednesday 4 October – 48 Watt Street, Newcastle

Friday 6 October – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Saturday 7 October – The Zoo, Brisbane

Wednesday 11 October – Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Thursday 12 October – Workers Club, Geelong

Friday 13 October – Fat Controller, Adelaide

Saturday 14 October – Republic Bar, Hobart

Wednesday 18 October – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Thursday 19 October – The Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Friday 20 October – Mojo’s, Fremantle

Ticket info available at www.alexlahey.com.au

 

Advertisements