SINGLE REVIEW: Lakyn – West

Lakyn

In between musical projects and touring it took 5 years for Lakyn to release new original music. Truly a crazy amount of time but the songwriter had been working on a new sound and direction which saw him surprisingly taking inspiration from hip-hop. His reintroduction track “View Looks So Good” was a guitar driven track that saw a beat added to the mix that gave him a Drake meets Ed Sheeran meets Matt Corby sound. He is currently touring Australia with Vera Blue premiering his new music and he’s just dropped an official second single. “West” continues this new sound while still holding onto his guitar-alternative roots but builds a new hip-hop influenced texture on top. The song is good but it is a bit too familiar. The melody is very similar to the previous single and while it carries on the new vision, I was hoping for something a bit different. However lyrically it’s a very dark track that looks at him reflecting on his own self worth and not getting too comfortable in one place for too long. He always wants to push himself to be better and work harder and this does come across in his vocal delivery and lyrical structure. “Wandering west in the wild I pack my bags and my notebook. Heading out on my own, write some words I can take home”. It’s a song that grows on you with each listen but as a single it’s not as strong or alluring as “View Looks So good”.

You can catch Lakyn on his headlining tour in October. Check out the dates;

Friday October 13 – Northcote Social Club – Melbourne

Friday October 20 – Milk Factory – Brisbane

Saturday October 21 – OAF Gallery – Sydney

Wednesday October 25 – Grace Emily – Adelaide

 

You can also currently catch Lakyn on tour with Vera Blue as apart of her Mended Tour. Check out the dates;

Friday 25 August – The Triffid, Brisbane SOLD OUT
Saturday 26 August – The Mills Precinct, Toowoomba
Sunday 27 August – Miami Marketta, Gold Coast SOLD OUT
Thursday 31 August – UOW Uni Bar, Wollongong SOLD OUT
Friday 1 September – The Beery, Terrigal
Saturday 2 September – Metro Theatre, Sydney
Friday 8 September – Bar On The Hill, Newcastle
Saturday 9 September – Odeon Theatre, Hobart
Sunday 10 September – 170 Russell, Melbourne SOLD OUT

 

 

Advertisements