SINGLE REVIEW: Thandi Phoenix – Standing Too Close

Thandi Phoenix

Thandi Phoenix is one of the best live performers in the Australian pop scene currently and that’s no lie. Her live shows are something else and when you watch her it’s clear that she was born to do this. Her new single “Standing Too Close” continues her pop-RNB-dance fusion with another sophisticated and cool track. The song starts with simple keys and a basic synth while her soulful vocals produce smooth harmonies. And then the chorus drops a slick UK Garage beat that is similar to the likes of Rudimental. The song grows and shows a strong maturity that her songs seem to continue representing. After a couple of listens this song will be cemented in your head but I truly think that this is a track that you will need to experience live to truly appreciate it.

You can catch Thandi Phoenix opening for Vera Blue on her Mended Australian Tour throughout July – September.

Vera Blue Mended Tour Dates

Friday 28 July – The Academy, Canberra
Saturday 29 July – Metro Theatre, Sydney SOLD OUT
Friday 4 August – The Gov, Adelaide
Saturday 5 August – Metropolis, Fremantle
Tuesday 8 August – Tap House, Bendigo
Wednesday 9 August – Grand Hotel, Mornington
Friday 11 August – 170 Russell, Melbourne SOLD OUT
Saturday 12 August – The Wool Exchange, Geelong
Friday 25 August – The Triffid, Brisbane SOLD OUT
Saturday 26 August – The Mills Precinct, Toowoomba
Sunday 27 August – Miami Marketta, Gold Coast SOLD OUT
Thursday 31 August – UOW Uni Bar, Wollongong
Friday 1 September – The Beery, Terrigal
Saturday 2 September – Metro Theatre, Sydney
Friday 8 September – Bar On The Hill, Newcastle
Saturday 9 September – Odeon Theatre, Hobart
Sunday 10 September – 170 Russell, Melbourne

 

 

 

Advertisements